Team Drives are shared spaces where teams can store files and guarantee that every member has the most up-to-date information, no matter the time or place.
- Members of a Team Drive share ownership of any files and folders.
- If someone leaves the Team Drive, any files they added will stay.
- You can still share files with a link or invite.
- Team members are prevented from accidentally removing or deleting files that others need.
Any staff member can create a Team Drive. But, obviously, teams will want to coordinate to prevent the creation of multiple Team Drives for the same group and purpose.
To create a Team Drive:
- Visit drive.google.com.
- Click "Team Drives" on the left-hand side of the screen.
- Click the blue "New Team Drive" button on the left-hand side of the screen to create a new Team Drive for you and your teammates.
- Add teammates and files to your Team Drive, giving them appropriate access:
- Full access: By default, people can manage members, and upload, edit, move, or delete all files.
- Edit access: Edit all files and upload new files. These people can’t move or delete files.
- Comment access: Can only comment on all files.
- View access: Can only view all files.: By default, people can manage members, and upload, edit, move, or delete all files.
Once you have created or been invited to join a Team Drive, you can add, create, edit, delete or view files, depending on your level of access.
Visit the Team Drives Learning Center for detailed tutorials on using Team Drives.
Because this is a new program, functions of this new feature may change as Google Developers get feedback from users like you. To provide feedback from within Team Drives, click Settings and select Send feedback.